After renaming the Smoothwall Filter and Firewall host name, you can delete the Active directory connection and start over using a fresh service account.
When removing an Active Directory connection and re-adding it, some confusion might arise based on the computer account created for the Smoothwall when it last joined. Follow the steps below to remove and rejoin a Smoothwall to a directory.
- In the Smoothwall, from the SERVICES menu, under the Authentication submenu, click Directories.
- Hover your cursor over the directory:
- If it's not needed, click Delete.
- If you want to keep it click Edit, and then for the Status, clear the Enabled option.
Once the connection has been disabled, perform a search for the Smoothwall computername on all Active Directory controllers in the "Active Directory users and computers" MMC. If the computername is found, delete the computer account.
Wait 10 minutes after deleting all instances of the Smoothwall computer account and then perform the search again to make sure the account information has been deleted.
If needed, create a new service user, and add those credentials to the Active Directory entry on the Smoothwall. If a host name change is also required, then do not enable the Active Directory connection yet. Change the host name on the Smoothwall and reboot.
Once the reboot has completed, edit and enable the Active Directory connection again.